Posted on

Trust Your Wrong Turns

a friend of mine (a well bestowed street performer, an amazing character, and a wonderful slight artist) is currently going from Florida to his home in Seatle. This is a small snippet of his story. A piece that I’d like to share because I relate a lot with being stereotyped. Be it by police or not. Be it that i am a street performer or that I am very androgynous (mostly feminine). I’ve been told I’m a vagrant before and treated like dirt for their neglect to understand that the 9-5 life is not the only one in the world. We do not beg. We are people without a venue to entertain and the streets have a place for that. People are there and they enjoy us being there. If I was a beggar… If he was a beggar… I’m sure we’d see them before they got there out of sheer paranoia.

We are the artists of today. Still looked down on by society when there is no sponsorship logo pinned to our bodies.

About joslynalana

I'm just a girl trying to make it in the world.

Leave a Reply

